

# Dawn Seabrook deVargas Fellowship



To Local ATESL Co-Chairs and ATESL Membership:

ATESL is pleased to announce that the Dawn Seabrook de Vargas Fellowship has been reinstated through a generous donation by Alberta Workforce Essential Skills Society (AWES). To assist you in the nomination process for the Dawn Seabrook de Vargas award, the following provides information about the award and the criteria the ATESL and AWES Boards will use to select the award recipient.

#### **About the Award**

Dawn Seabrook de Vargas was one of the founding members of ATESL and served the TESL field tirelessly for almost 30 years in a broad range of subject areas from assessment, community education, cross cultural education, plain language and, of course, Essential Skills, which became a lasting interest. She was not afraid of breaking new ground in a variety of areas and her success in every endeavour was secured by her lively enthusiasm and solid knowledge and wisdom. Dawn is remembered as a kind colleague full of energy, compassion, and ideas, and as someone who was always interested in creating exciting learning opportunities for students.

The Alberta Workforce Essential Skills Society is honouring the memory of Dawn Seabrook de Vargas with an award for excellence in her name. This award is to recognize outstanding contributions and service in the field of ESL and Essential Skills in Alberta. The award is open to both instructors and program administrators who are ATESL members involved in adult ESL and Essential Skills in the province. The Dawn Seabrook de Vargas Fellowship will disburse one \$500 award each year from 2016 to 2020.

**The Dawn Seabrook de Vargas award** is given to an ESL professional (instructor or program administrator) who, during his or her career, has contributed significantly in one or more of the following areas:

**Innovation:** the nominee supports innovative directions in ESL and Essential Skills, contributing ideas, resources, time and expertise to support new initiatives and best practices that enable immigrants' attachment to the workforce.

**Contribution**: the nominee makes significant contributions to the ESL community, sharing expertise and resources, advocating for ESL learners and fostering positive and responsive learning communities.

**Collaboration:** the nominee demonstrates collegial interactions, fostering collaboration between organizations and mentorship among stakeholders, including employers.

To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be involved in adult ESL and Essential Skills in Alberta and be an ATESL member in good standing. The award will be presented at the ATESL Conference during the AGM by the chair of the AWES Board.

### **Past Recipients**

ATESL has recognized the following individuals with the Dawn Seabrook de Vargas award:

Year	Recipient
2009	Lorene Anderson
2010	Margaret Armstrong Judy Hasinoff Shelley McConnell Helen Sommer-Longshore
2011	Elsie Johnson Hetty Roessingh
2012	Cindy Messaros
2013	Carol Smyth Allison Dennis
2016	Sue Oguchi

## **Nomination Guidelines**

Each Local, through the Local co-chairs, and/or the ATESL membership at large will be able to submit to the ATESL Board a single name for nomination. The nominator(s) need to be prepared to explain how the potential recipient fits the guidelines as identified above and the ways in which the nominee represents the ideals and practice of Dawn Seabrook de Vargas. The nomination will be submitted to the Board on the official nomination form and includes the name of the nominee and support for that nomination of no more than one page in length. Providing clear examples of how the nominee has contributed significantly in one or more of the following: Innovation, Contribution and /or Collaboration with respect to language training and Essential Skills will assist the Board in its deliberations.

### **Evaluation**

All nominations for the Dawn Seabrook de Vargas fellowship will be considered by the ATESL Board and one member of the AWES Board, and evaluated based on the award guidelines above.

#### Review

The ATESL Board agrees to review the nomination and selection process for this Fellowship once per annum.



# Dawn Seabrook de Vargas Fellowship 2017 Nomination Form



Please submit your nomination to the ATESL Board **by August 31, 2017.**Please submit electronically to the ATESL administrative office at <a href="mailto:atesl.ca">atesl.admin@atesl.ca</a>

ATESL Local (if applicable):		
Name of Nominee:		
Name of Nominator:		
Support for nomination keeping in mind the guidelines identified above:		